Nonmaleficence:

My hardheaded brother (not Horatio) recently appeared in front of the judge to discuss a DUI. This is his third DUI, of which the last two were within a 5 year period. My family and I were expecting the book to be thrown at him which would ensue in a hefty sentence on top of the lengthy restricted license and weighty fines. This is not what happened. His lawyer provided my brother with a ‘Get Out of Jail Free’ card (the card wasn’t actually ‘free’ considering the lawyer fees) which allowed him to skate by the penal system and subsequently not learn from the serious infraction.

This post by earlyrecoveryblog does an excellent job of depicting the depth of denial that addiction burrows into the addict’s subconscious mind. Much like the incidents in the author’s life, the slap on the wrist that my brother received was not enough for him to change his ways. I just hope that he doesn’t seriously hurt somebody before realizing the ramifications of his actions.

Originally posted on earlyrecoveryblog:

I remember shoveling mud out of a drainage ditch in an elementary school in Pacifica. It was part of the Sheriff’s Work Program that followed DUI school. I remember not trying very hard. I remember parking near the sheriff station with my temporary license, or my suspended license, remember not being sure which it was, and panicking as I pulled away at the end of the day, waiting for sirens.

It’s been coming up a lot lately, in meetings. Stories of rolling the car, twice, and trying to start it and drive on. Of failing to start it and falling asleep. Of sideswiping semis and walking away.

There were many dark nights.

I’ve been reminiscing about my first AA meetings, the ones I went to when I first started trying to get sober, when I was in and out of the program, a few years ago. But I’ve been forgetting:…

View original 286 more words

2 comments
  1. Thank you for posting this!

    It is a family affair isn’t it? I am so sorry.

    Peace, Jen

    • What can I say…my family is Irish. This brother isn’t as bad off (I’m not reallys sure if that makes sense).
      Thanks for your support, Jen :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

